The Vancouver Island Runners’ Association (VIRA) is composed of clubs and businesses with an interest in running. The association is a society created in 1984 under the Society’s Act. VIRA directors include an executive with the following positions:

  • President
  • Vice-president
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Members at large (0-20)

The race directors from the Vancouver Island Race Series and representatives from member clubs also attend board meetings.

The current board consists of:


Christopher Kelsall


Bob Reid


Bob Reid


Chris Sullivan

General manager:

Christopher Kelsall


Wayne Crowe


Jeff Beddoes


Eric Ellis

Race directors:

Harriers Pioneer 8K
Jeff Beddoes

Westcoast Sooke 10K
Jason Ball/Kathleen Quast

Cedar 12K
Brad Rush

Synergy Health Mgt Bazan Bay 5K
Rob Hare

Cobble Hill 10K
Brenda Niziol/Cara Light

Hatley Castle 8K
Nick Walker

Port Alberni 15K
Bill Collette/
Sasha Visona

Comox Valley RV Half Marathon
Wayne Crowe